• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Total nightmare. Best computer for editing?

Community Beginner ,
Mar 20, 2018 Mar 20, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am going crazy. I’m a professional filmmaker, producing content for YouTube and broadcast TV. I had continual problems with the most specced out MacBook Pro money can buy taking hours to render or export or simply crashing altogether. I have tried editing from external hard drives and also from projects just saved on the Desktop.

It had AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB graphics card 16GB ram 1TB flash storage 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 processor. A month ago it died altogether- this is the third MacBook Pro in three years that just died completel.

I have tried proxy editing but this doesn’t work when dealing with slow motion footage shot in 96fps - which a lot of my work is. I have some 4K drone footage but even projects without this footage gave me massive render delays or crashing.