Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Noise Reduction Destruction

New Here ,
Jul 24, 2017 Jul 24, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Adobe Community,

I am currently working on an audio strip that contains an interview of a friend for a video that I first worked on in Premiere Pro -- I merely wanted to reduce the background noise within the clip so I exported and imported the clip into Adobe Audition. This is my first time using Audition so I was following some tutorials and it had me take the 'noise print' of the background noise I wanted to eliminate and although it did minimize a majority of the noise in the background it seemed to greatly affect the main audio foundation of the interview. Then my friend's voice became very gurgily and some what metallic.The tutorial did advise me that this would happen since noise reduction process is a very finicky and powerful tool. Later the tutorial had me use 'adaptive noise reduction' to take care of this gurgily and metallic sound. However, this only took care of some more background noise and hardly touched the distorted sound that was affected after reducing the noise.

I had the noise reduction bar setting in 'noise reduction process' around 80dB and the 'reduce by' setting at 30. My advance settings were:

- Spectral decay rate: 10%

- Precision Factor: 15

- Smoothing: 900

- Transition Width: 15 dB

I didn't think that was too bad and I recorded everything on a rode mic. I have fiddled with these settings all I can, having some up and some down and nothing seems to get rid of this metallic gurgily effect. Honestly, I have followed many tutorials about this issue but I can't seem to find one that can directly pinpoint that gurgily after effect once the noise reduction is applied. Any help to solve this issue would be greatly appreciated! Thanks everyone!

Here are the links to some of the tutorials I followed:

Advanced Noise Reduction in Audition - YouTube