Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Control Publishing Format/Size?

Community Beginner ,
May 28, 2019 May 28, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi:

I'm new to Captivate and testing to see how things work.

I've imported a PowerPoint presentation, not embedded, and then exported to see what the file structure and size look like.

The PowerPoint is 27MB and the Captivate with the embbeded PowerPoint is 190 MB so I assume Captivate is creating a full res image for each slide.

When I publish to html, the files are saved as PNG and the total project is 105 MB.

In an attempt to reduce the file size, I imported a set of jpegs of the PPT presentation. The total jpgs are 6MB and the Captivate file is 7 MB - much better.

When I publish this version to html, the folder is 37MB. It seems like a lot of extra data and I see that the images are converted to json (which I've never seen before).

I then selected all the slides and set the properties/quality to jpg. When I publish this version to html with publish quality = jpg 50%, the folder is 26MB and images are converted to png.

Is there a way to control the output?

When publishing, the "Size and Qaulity" settings don't have much if any, effect.

What I'd like to do is have Captivate create a slideshow using jpegs, as that is all I need.

Any insight into how the export works will be appreciated.

Thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 29, 2019 May 29, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied