• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

footnote in a column, not straddled

Explorer ,
Mar 10, 2020 Mar 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I am a beginner in FM (after InDesign), and I've got a problem.

I'm making 2 column documents with title information going across the page. I have an article with a deceased author whom I'm to mark with a dagger footnote in the bottom of the page, placed in one column, not in the wide string. The authors' names are followed with straddled strings of their affiliations and some other. What should I do to get the footnote in the required format?

Appreciate any advice

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , Mar 11, 2020 Mar 11, 2020

Thank you but my aim is the opposite: to get a FN in a column regardless of whether a ref is in a spanned paragraph or in a paragraph in column.

So I placed the FN in an anchored frame in the bottom of the column (anchored in that column) and then made a cross-ref to it through the <Superscript><$paranum>. It is not due to any rules but it looks like it should be. It would be better if FM offered to do this according to the publisher logic, but I could not find this approach.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Mar 10, 2020 Mar 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If your problem is that the footnote is spanning both/all columns:

Right-click in the footnote, Paragraph » Paragraph Designer » Pagination.

If (•) Across All {whatever}
is set, change it to
(•) In Column
[Update Style]

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Mar 11, 2020 Mar 11, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied