Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

FrameMaker for SRS Specs?

New Here ,
Aug 28, 2011 Aug 28, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm a tech writer working for a company that's just purchased the Technical Communications Suite.  It's my job now to learn the software and use it where appropriate on our IEEE Documentation (I've never used or seen it before now).

I was wondering if anyone could tell me; is it primarily used for user manuals, procedures, etc or should/can it also be used for technical papers such as Software Requirements Specs, Design Documents, etc.  Our SRS docs contains item references, etc and are currently done in Word, however, we are breaking down to modules where there is a lot of cross over and re-use between modules, so the single sourcing in FrameMaker may work better?

Your advice would be appreciated....  I need to get some SRS docs done urgently, but can't afford to spend the time to learn FrameMaker just yet, if that's not the right solution.  However, if it is the right way to go, it's worth the time spent in the interim to get it right first up.

Thanks in advance for your advice & assistance.....

Kristi

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,
Aug 31, 2011 Aug 31, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome to FM-land, Kristi -- as the saying goes, please adjust your seatbelt ....

The answer to your question(s) is yes, FM would be suitable for both manuals and for requirements spec/design documents. FM is very flexible and often has multiple ways to achieve the same end result, there's almost never a single "only" way to do anything -- the trick is to choose the best method to suit your specific workflow.