Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How Do I Convert An Existing FM 2019 Document to An E-Book

New Here ,
May 12, 2020 May 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello FM Community!

I'm a bit of a newbie to FM and have only been using it for about 6 months. I just completed updates to an existing textbook that is about 600 pages. Our partners would like to also offer the book as an e-book. What are the steps I need to take to accomplish this?

Thanks in advance for your help.

TOPICS
CMS , FAQ , Publishing , Technical Communication Suite

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 12, 2020 May 12, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Start with File > Publish and choose ePub or Kindle.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
May 13, 2020 May 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you for the quick response! I was able to create an ePub document and open it in ADE. However, there are a LOT of formatting issues. Any idea how to resolve?

Also, I tried to publish to Kindle but when I do I get the following message: KindleGen Executable was not found. What does this mean?

Thanks so much for your help.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 13, 2020 May 13, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In the bottom right of the Publish panel there is a button to edit the settings (.sts file) for your output type. This is where you can map paragraph/character formats, etc. to styles in your output.