• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New to FM 9 and want to update finished documents that are in pdf form

New Here ,
Sep 12, 2011 Sep 12, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm using FrameMaker 9 and would like to know the easiest way to update finished documents that are saved in pdf form.  I am new to FM and need to update text, tables, illustrations, etc. in existing documents.

What I have are the .fm files and .book documents that the .pdfs were made from.  Reading through the user's guide, it looks like I should edit individual .fm files, swap them into the 'book', and save the book as a pdf.  Is it that simple?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 13, 2011 Sep 13, 2011

Think so - once files are upgraded to FM9 and saved, they won't hassle you again.

Hint: When working with a number of files inside (or outside) a book, you can hold down the Shift key and the Files menu will change to have "Open All," "Save All," and "Close All" commands.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Pretty much - you'll probably want to edit the .fm files and then update the book that they belong to (for ToC & Index purposes if you've got them). There's no need to swap in any files that were already part of an existing book unless you've create new ones or renamed the existing ones. Then you would have to add them to a book. It's easier to print to PDF rather than saving as PDF - just print to the Adobe PDF virtual printer instance.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Sep 13, 2011 Sep 13, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied