• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I get the guides to snap to the center line of an object?

Explorer ,
Sep 25, 2018 Sep 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Illustrator, but I have used Photoshop somewhat.  In Photoshop, the smart guides would show pink alignment lines so if f I wanted to align an object with another, I go by the lines.  Also when dragging out a guide, it would snap to the edge, center, etc of an object as I dragged the guide across it.  How do I do this in Illustrator?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 25, 2018 Sep 25, 2018

If you turn on Smart Guides under the View menu in Illustrator that will give you the same type of behavior as in Photoshop. Snap to Grid, Pixel, and Point are also under the View menu.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Sep 25, 2018 Sep 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you turn on Smart Guides under the View menu in Illustrator that will give you the same type of behavior as in Photoshop. Snap to Grid, Pixel, and Point are also under the View menu.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,
Sep 26, 2018 Sep 26, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have Smart Guides on and have tried all of the Snap To options, but none give me the alignment lines when moving an object around other objects or snap to the center of objects when I drag the guide across it.

I realized that I didn't mention yet that I am using the latest version of Illustrator CC

Votes

Translate