• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

‘require’ keyword to import modules in Illustrator JavaScript ?

Community Beginner ,
Dec 27, 2020 Dec 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I’ve written a JavaScript for Adobe Illustrator to automatically add text labels to shapes. The problem is that the shapes have sometimes odd forms (like U f.e.) it’s therefore hard to find the visual center of the shapes lying inside the shape to place the text label. I found this algorithm: A new algorithm for finding a visual center of a polygon | by Mapbox | maps for developers which seems to do the job so I tried to use it in my Illustrator JavaScript. The problem is that using this algo I need to import a module called ‘tinyqueue’.

I’m not experienced in writing JavaScript. I’ve installed node.js on my Window10 PC and installed ‘tinyqueue’ module in the directory where my Illustrator script resides (npm init -y; npm install tinyqueue). This has created a package.json file locally (+ a node_modules/ directory) . Then, as a starting point, I just added the  following line at top of my script:

var Queue = require('tinyqueue');

When trying to execute my script in Illustrator I get the following Illustrator error message:

Error 24: require is not a function. Line: 3 -> var Queue = require('tinyqueue');

I wonder if there is a problem with my package.json file? Is the ‘require’ (and f.e. ‘class’) keyword supported at all for Illustrator scripting? Do I need to add a #include line to my script to read the package.json file?

I would be grateful if someone could instruct me in solving this error!

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer