• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Data Merge: Cannot get multiple records per page

Community Beginner ,
May 04, 2010 May 04, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am working with a client who is trying to do a directory in Indesign. There are about 1,800 people with information like address, title, employer, phone, etc. This info is on an Excel spread sheet. I made a text, tab delimited and a CSV file from the spreadsheet. I set up a two column text box on each page and want these entries to fill the columns. I am only able to get one person's information per page. Multiple records per page yields no different result. I also had the multiple records option grayed out on a couple tries. I have tried this many times, even tried setting up a simple spread sheet with 9 items. No luck. HELP! I'm brand new to this feature.

Chris

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , Dec 14, 2016 Dec 14, 2016

I was having this same issue with InDesign CC 2017 and just figured it out. It's not like Word where you create all of the records and simply link them by using <<Next Record>>. I needed to create labels 8-up to an 8.5x11 sheet. Instead of creating multiple text boxes and placing them within the page, and adding the merge fields to each one, you just create ONE text box. Then in the Utilitities/Data Merge window select Multiple Records (instead of Single Record). Then go the the Multiple Records

Votes

Translate

Translate
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Does your data look correct when you do click the "preview" button?