Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Epub fonts bad kern

Community Beginner ,
Nov 30, 2019 Nov 30, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,
I'm fairly new to epubs, but have created several reflowable epubs with no issues. 
Created my first 'fixed' epub from InDesign (CC19) file which uses typekit font 'Proxima Soft'. Using Kindle previewer to check file. Fonts view fine on my end, but when client uploads file & views the font kern is all messed up. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Sandy

TOPICS
EPUB

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I think you're asking too much of the simple EPUB format. https://helpx.adobe.com/uk/indesign/using/export-content-epub-cc.html says:

Also note the following limitations when including text in your documents for export to EPUB:

• Kerning is not supported on an individual glyph and is distributed as letter spacing across all the letters of a word

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Beyond Books app on iOS and Mac, fixed layout epub is kind of a crapshoot. Converting to mobi for kindle is likely to break an awful lot.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for your reply Bob,

Working InDesign CC19 on PC. Export to .epub (fixed), just using Kindle preview for proof (no mobi export). 
Not making sense why my view is different than my clients.
Response to Test_Screen_Name... Don't need exact kern, but it should be readable. Clients view the kern crash is unreadable.

Votes

Translate

Translate