• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Sorting Index References

Participant ,
Feb 22, 2017 Feb 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I'm just starting out with creating indexes for 800 pg catalogs.

Right now I have almost 200 pages done with part numbers set as references. I got to thinking after the fact that I might need to add a Topic to these in case upper management wants to change the way the index is displayed: sort by product then numerical order, instead of just numerical order.

My question is, are you able to modify the references in the Index panel to be added to Topics, without having to redo all of the work already done. If anyone has any info at all, please let me know. Thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 22, 2017 Feb 22, 2017

I'd suggest that you might not want to edit your existing index. You may want to create additional index entries, then maybe build duplicate indexes.

Remember that when you generate an index, it's a snapshot in time. Indexes are not dynamic within InDesign. I have a series of catalogs I produce with similar indexing issues, and I do it like so:

1) Make all my entries -- first highlighting the part number, then pressing the keyboard shortcut Command+7 (for Mac) or Ctrl+7 (for Windows systems). This

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Feb 22, 2017 Feb 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'd suggest that you might not want to edit your existing index. You may want to create additional index entries, then maybe build duplicate indexes.

Remember that when you generate an index, it's a snapshot in time. Indexes are not dynamic within InDesign. I have a series of catalogs I produce with similar indexing issues, and I do it like so: