Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

best cloud backup solution for lightroom

Explorer ,
Apr 08, 2016 Apr 08, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I'm new to both Lightroom and Cloud storage so was wondering if I could get a little bit of advise on backing up my images both to an onsite system and to the cloud.

I am a professional photographer however I no longer work for myself so the back up is mainly for my personal images.  At the moment I have two independent desktop hard drives, a Lacie 500 Gig (which is pretty much full) and a WD 1T which has approx 250 Gig left on it.  These have both got a lot of the same stuff on them so in total I really dont have more than approx 750Gig of data.

I am keen to really improve both my back up and general workflow hence heading over to Lightroom which from what I can see just about gives me the perfect database (almost DAM's) solution for organising \ cataloging my shots.

I was thinking (and this is where I would love your advise) of purchasing something like the WD Mycloud mirrored 4T drive which would in effect give me two 2T onsite drives and then linking up to a cloud storage solution for an offsite copy of my backup.  I had read somewhere that Dropbox works well with Lightroom but could someone give me an idea of how much, if any functionality can be used in LR while storing in the cloud, or is this copy purely a data backup and no more?

Would really appreciate any comments on both the overall concept and any other cloud based suppliers such as iCloud, OneDrive, Google Drive etc.  I'm not looking to spend a fortune as I cant offset this against any business type costs but want to put a reasonable backup solution in place.

One other thing, when backing up to the cloud, would I just have to upload any items of new data or will the cloud accept my whole backup folder and then just pick out the new items to backup accordingly?

Many thanks - John

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines