• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lens Corrections in LrC's Develop Module or in-camera "Lens aberration correction"

Explorer ,
Jul 12, 2021 Jul 12, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you are using the in-camera "Lens aberration correction" that is available to you in cameras like the Canon R5, is it still a good idea to use the "Lens Corrections," "Lens Profile" in the Development Module of Lightroom Classic, i.e., would the two work in concert with each other and augment the development results, or might they fight with each other or simply be redundant -- and using them both possibly interfere with the proper development of the images captured?

I have shot Canon RAW and used Lightroom Classic for many years and always enabled "Lens Corrections" when developing those images. 

That said, I am very new to the R5 and the availability of on-board "Lens aberration correction" (the DSLR that the R5 replaced didn't have an option like that).

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jul 13, 2021 Jul 13, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

My understanding of the way it works is that because the lens corrections are built into the R5 raw files, there are no separate lens profiles to be applied afterwards. 

Someone please correct me if I am wrong.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 14, 2021 Jul 14, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied