• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom catalog organization

New Here ,
Mar 12, 2021 Mar 12, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I’m new to Lightroom Classic but not new to editing Nikon NEFs.  I’ve been using Nikon software for editing and am considering moving to Lightroom.  Up to now I’ve organized my photos by date and have over 500 subfolders and 22,000+ photos all contained in one large “Photos and Videos” folder (250GB) which resides on an external HDD.  

I need advice.  I believe Adobe recommends using a single catalog for managing photos.  Alternatively, I could organize photos edited via Lightroom by setting up a separate catalog within each subfolder for just the photos within that subfolder.  Photos edited by Lightroom for a given date or date range, would be managed by the catalog in that subfolder.  Is this crazy, i.e., should I just use a single Lightroom catalog for all photos edited by Lightroom as Adobe recommends, or is my idea (brainstorm?) a workable alternative?  The potential advantage of using multiple catalogs, one per subfolder, is if I want to move photos to, say, another disk or flash drive, I can just move the photos and their corresponding catalog as a unit. I have not yet explored using Adobe Organizer because I would prefer to have only one scheme and software application for managing photos rather than having Adobe managing photos I take from here on and photos I’ve taken in the past managed by my good ‘ol “manual” method.  Comments please.  Vic.   

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Being "new"- just be sure we are always talking about LIGHTROOM-CLASSIC (Not the Cloud/mobile/desktop version)

"a separate catalog within each subfolder"