Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

missing photo and the folder could not be found

New Here ,
Jan 23, 2021 Jan 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

HELP!

I have been using Lightroom Classic for a few years now.  My laptop is out of room so I purchased a 1TB external drive.  I have been saving all my SD cards since 2010 and decided to load all those photos into Lightroom but instead of going to my C: drive I instructed the imports to go to my external drive.  All importing went well.  They're on the external drive and they're kindof in Lightroom.  In Lightroom Library they all have an explanation point in the upper right corner of each photo.  In Develop they each say the folder could not be found.  WHY?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,
Jan 23, 2021 Jan 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

What OS are you on Mac or Win 10? Look in Finder or Windows explorer to see it the external drive is still connected.

If the drive is still connected, try reconnecting the folder the images are in to the external drive. Right click on the folder, then choose update folder location.   Do Not Reimport.

Ken Seals - Nikon Z 9, Z 8, 14mm-800mm. Computer Win 11 Pro, I7-8700K, 64GB, RTX3070TI. Travel machine: 2021 MacBook Pro M1 MAX 64GB. All Adobe apps.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jan 24, 2021 Jan 24, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

All importing went well. They're on the external drive and they're kindof in Lightroom.

Photos are never stored in Lightroom. Not "kind of", not otherwise. They are not in Lightroom, they are on your hard disk.