• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best way to resize for high quality?

Participant ,
Mar 11, 2024 Mar 11, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am submitting an image to a digital exhibition.

The instructions it says to "Size each image 1200 pixels on the long side at 72 dpi"

My original image is 5280 X  3096 pixels at 240 resolution.

What is the best way to resize this to maintain the best quality?  

Do I save as 72 DPI first, then go in and change pixel diminsion?

What about the resample box, do i leave unchecked?

I'm not a professional photographer, I need your help.

Thanks!

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 11, 2024 Mar 11, 2024

The simplest way to do this is to leave the original unchanged, and use one of the export commands to export a copy that’s resized to the required pixel dimensions and file format.

These are the steps In the demo below:

1. Choose File > Export > Export As.

2. Select the Format (file format). Most art competitions require JPEG, but verify that for the one you’re applying to.

3. Set the long side to 1200 px. When you apply that by clicking in the short side field or pressing Tab, you’ll find tha

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No subject seems to cause as much confusion among camera club members, Exhibition entrants, _and_ organisers, as image size, resolution and pixels-per-inch.

This is how Photoshop defaulted when I created a document your original size.

image.png

If I turn off Resample and change the resolution to 72PPI, the image is _exactly_ the same.  It is still 5280 x 3096 pixels.  The only difference is that if you sent the file to a printer, it would print at a different size.

image.png