• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I change the color black

New Here ,
Dec 21, 2011 Dec 21, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I will preface this by saying I am new to Photoshop.

The Problem? I have a family logo on a solid black background.  This is not a photograph.  I want to change the solid black background to a custom green color.  This sounds simple enough, but I cannot get Photoshop to change the black to green for me.  Here is what i have tried so far.

1.  My file is a 16-bit RGB TIF file.  I have saved the file as a RAW file and a PSD file and neither of these work.  So I assume the problem is not the TIF format.

2.  I have tried this.

Image -> Adjustments -> change color.

I can use the eyedropper to select the black (in the background) and the preview shows the black selected.

However, when I move the HUE slider below, the color stays black.  It does not change color.

If I type in the Hue Saturation and Lightness numbers for my color, the background will change, but it changes to gray, not my color.

3.  I have tried this

I set my background to the color I want.  (A custom color I created, of R:34  G: 139  B:34)

I click on  BrushTool  -> Color Replacement Tool

Settings on the horizontal tool bar are

Mode: color    Sampling: Once     Limits: Contiguous    Tolerance: 5%

I then click on the black background, but it stays black.  It does not change to the color I specified.

(I have also tried Discontiguous, different modes, different sampling, etc. Nothing works).

I will note that if I set my background to blue (R:0  G:0  B:255), then the Color Replacement Tool works.

It will change the black background to the basic blue color.

It just will not work for the custom green color that I created.

It also will not work for most of the other default colors in PHotoshop.