• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Unwanted sharp edges with Magic Wand?

Jun 27, 2016 Jun 27, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys,

I feel like a newbie even though ive been using Photoshop for about 15 years. But as of yesterday, when i use the magic wand tool on a selection and then fill it in, im not getting anti-aliasing! I think I accidentally hit a shortcut key that i don't know about. I'm used to Photoshop on a PC, but im now using mac and yesterday i was fumbling around for the new layer shortcut, so it probably happened then. The Anti-aliasing box is ticked on everything, tolerance at 0 (and 32 for the wand). Bicubic/smooth for gradients is on (sometimes i switch it to hard edges for Pixel art). Filling a selection through the marquee tool gives me smooth edges, but if i then select that same area with the magic wand it fills as a jagged pixelated edge. Im not using paths or anything like that, just basic selection and fill. What the heck have i done??

Here is where i first noticed it. Original selection made with the circular marquee on the left, nice smooth fill. Selected with the Magic wand and when i fill it again, it is suddenly jagged and hard.

pshelp.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Jun 28, 2016 Jun 28, 2016

Pressing Ctrl/Cmd on the thumbnail of a layer you load a selection that is equal to the visible content of that layer. I think it was what you wanted to obtain with the Magic Wand, but using the technique I explained to you you will have a more precise final selection.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I think the problem is that you set your Tolerance to 0. Increase the Tolerance and the Anti-Alias will be back.

Votes

Translate

Translate