• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What computer best supports photoshop (possibly illustrator)

New Here ,
Apr 30, 2024 Apr 30, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! Not sure if this is the right place to post this question. If not let me know where it can be posted. I'm a digital artist, and I'm considering switching from fresco to photoshop or illustrator. I'd like to know which one would prove an easier transition.
But mostly, I need help in choosing a laptop computer that will adequately support either program. I was planning on using mac, but am unsure if that is the best choice over windows. What would you recommend, disregarding the huge price difference?
I understand that mac and windows are very different. If possible, could you answer the following questions separately for both mac and windows:
- Is there a set of important requirements you would suggest?
I have seen the list of Adobe requirements here but have been told they are understated:
- what kind of GPU? CPU? 
- how much storage? RAM? SSD? Scratch disk?
- I will be hooking this up to a 4K monitor. Will I need a specific resolution on the laptop to make this work? 

Lastly, is there one or a few specific computers you could recommend?

Thanks so much for you support.
TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Apr 30, 2024 Apr 30, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would actually recommend a desktop build over a laptop, if that is at all an option. There are several potential issues with laptops.