• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Upscaling within Photoshop

Community Beginner ,
Feb 29, 2024 Feb 29, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Having the ability to perform upscaling within Photoshop would be a fantastic application. I am an editor of illustrated books and we often encounter the problem of wanting to enlarge a drawing, but the printed resolution limits us. I am familiar with the Super Zoom tool in Neural Filters, but it's not the same because that function involves cropping, which is not ideal. It would be a tremendous asset to incorporate this feature into Photoshop.

Greetings and thank you.

Idea No status

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
18 Comments
Community Expert ,
Mar 02, 2024 Mar 02, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Upsampling is possible with the Image Size-dialog so please elaborate. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community Expert ,
Mar 02, 2024 Mar 02, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Super Zoom doesn't need to crop, that's just a secondary function. At basic operation it scales the full original to 2x linear dimensions. One pixel becomes four.

You probably already know the following, so this is just general information for others reading this:

There is nothing magical about the 300 ppi number. It's a theoretical upper limit, beyond which no improvement is possible - but it's not a lower limit. You can print eminently sharp at lower ppi numbers, down to 200 ppi or so, on matte paper even lower - if the file is prepared and sharpened optimally.