Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Writing script to automate lip-syncing in Premiere for animation series

Explorer ,
Apr 15, 2018 Apr 15, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I am a veteran PPro/AE user and beginner programmer attempting to write a script to automate the lip-syncing tasks I do within an animation series.

Workflow

This project involves video clips that can stretch to 30+ minutes, making placing the required mouth images over each frame of footage a very numbing, tedious process. In short, I'm given a Premiere Project that contains near complete footage, with the only thing missing being the mouths for each character onscreen. We are provided the correct mouth images - in .PNG format - within a separate folder.

I then go through and place the correct mouth images over each character in my footage, with the particular image used being dictated by whether the character is speaking. Luckily, I don't need to move the mouths around using any of the Transform properties or keyframe anything...they are already saved with the correct dimensions and placement, so all I'm doing is dragging-and-dropping the correct mouth image over my footage, one frame at a time. However, placing images of one frame length for each and every frame can quickly get tedious when you're working with shots that can be 30+ seconds, in an animation project that runs over 30min.

As far as the variety of our mouthsets goes, we use three main images to cover each character speaking. These images are divided as such:

• Closed Mouth (character isn't speaking) - usually designated as FILENAME-C.PNG
  • Mid Mouth (character's mouth is halfway open) - usually designated as FILENAME-M.PNG
  • Open Mouth (character's mouth is fully open) - usually designated as FILENAME-O.PNG

Quick visual example of this:

example mouths v2.png

Scripting Solution