Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Bilingual help application

New Here ,
Dec 05, 2007 Dec 05, 2007

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,
I'm a new developer (layman in the field) using the new version of RoboHelp 7. I've been asked to develop a help system which would be accessible by english and french users. I read a lot the documentation provided by Adobe but I have some questions in order to avoid problems:
1) What's the best way for developing a multilingual help system.... should I create specific files for english and specific files for french ?

2) How the user will get the appropriate help file in his selected language.... Should the user be obliged to select his prefered language and the triggering the help application along with passing the selected language ?

Thank you all for your answers.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome to the forums. I don't know the best way, but I can tell you what I do and let you be the judge.

To answer your questions in short (then see the explanation below):

1) I created a separate project for each language.

2) The way our developers implemented the code, the help system appears in the language the user is viewing the application in.

I work on a couple of Web projects (Java and database driven) where we have multiple languages. I made a copy of the original English version of the project for each language (each copy must be in a different directory). After the HTML topics were translated, I put them in the appropriate copies of the projects so they were no longer English. I also set the language of each copy to the appropriate language in File > Project Settings. Then each different language version is output to a different location.