Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

CSH on an Old Legacy Help Project

New Here ,
Apr 19, 2017 Apr 19, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I've spent a few days looking through the forums, and while some have come close, I need more specifics.  Let me try to describe what's going on:

I recently 'inherited' a RoboHelp project a couple of thousand web pages deep that's probably 13 or more years old.  The original author and developer are no longer with the organization.  We recently upgraded to Rh 2015 and the conversion to the updated software (from Rh 11 to 2015) appears to have completed without incident.  (Let me add here that although I've been a Technical Writer for about 25 years, this is my first exposure to RoboHelp.  My 'training' consisted of a three hour crash course provided to me by my predecessor.  Unfortunately, she left a few things out...)

I've learned to update content, generate and sequence the TOC, create books, and compile the project.  When I compile and pull it up in my sandbox, everything looks good, whether I'm looking at it in IE, FireFox, or Chrome.

The PROBLEM:  In Production, we have context sensitive help (CSH) enabled, so that when you visit a particular page of the web application and click the 'Help' link, the Help page for that screen displays.  However, when I visit a page in our Test environment and click the 'Help' link, the Help screen defaults to the 'Welcome' screen for all pages.

I've been doing some reading and exchanging emails with my former colleague.  From that, I suspect that we're using a 'TopicId' method employing hashed URL fragments (http://myserver/myhelpproject/index.htm#SampleHelpPage.htm).

I've also looked at the BSSCDefault.h and whcshdata.js files and both are empty.