• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

is there a difference in output between RH Classic and RH 2019?

Explorer ,
Mar 09, 2020 Mar 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I have to take over the job of a collegue. the person prepared written instruction and insisted on NOT using the new gui to maintain an existing project.

Is there any raison why you would like to keep the old way of working? (I'm new to both environments)

Is there any difference in output? we need to produce CHM files

best regards,

Olivier

TOPICS
Classic , New UI , Output presets

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 09, 2020 Mar 09, 2020

At the end of your CSS there are additional brackets.

} {
}

Delete those and then the CSS parses.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you are only ever going to produce CHMs, then either will work. You need to be aware though that CHMs are decreasing in popularity so what you use depends on your audience and how your software is used.

A CHM has to be installed on the users PC as they no longer work when installed on networks. They were good in their time and still work within their limitations but they don't offer the functionality of the newer online outputs.

I don't know how much further RoboHelp Classic will be developed as focus seems to be on the new user interface. However, if you are only producing CHMs then the version you have should continue to work. If your company does change to another format or already uses them as well, then going the new UI route would be better as that will continue to be developed.