• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Outputs in Robohelp 2019

New Here ,
Mar 03, 2021 Mar 03, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Robohelp 2019 and developing help for a web based application. Can you please tell me the difference between a Responsive HTML5 output and a Microsoft HTML help output? I do not want my help file to look like a website. I want my help to look like a .chm format with the topics on the left. I will be providing this to my developers with a Map ID file. 

Thank you very much. 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Microsoft HTML Help generates a chm file while Responsive HTML is a bunch of htm, img, css and js files. 

CHM is Microsoft format and hasn't been updated since about 2006.

The same as chm, Responsive HTML provides a toc on the left and topic on the right. In New UI, some of the skins provide a tiled home page a lot like a website, but they also provide a toc side panel when you click down into a topic. There are also skins that don't have a tiled home page at all.

I can't remember if you can turn off the home page for responsive skins, but Frameless output definitely allows you to turn off the home page.

Frameless is very similar to Responsive HTML5, but is where Adobe is focusing their development and also provides more comprehensive customisation options.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Mar 04, 2021 Mar 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you so much for the clarification. It definitely sound like Responsive HTML is the correct output for my project. 

Votes

Translate

Translate