• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Baffled at rejection due to exposure problem

Community Beginner ,
Mar 21, 2019 Mar 21, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have had this food image rejected twice now for 'exposure problems' and I am completely baffled as to where the exposure problem is. I have been a commercial photographer for over 25 years and I know what a good exposure is and there is nothing wrong with this as I see. It has an excellent histogram from light to dark with no excessive blown out highlights except for a small specular highlight on the spoon which is to be expected. The shadows are not blocked up and show good detail. I did several other shots in this same setup with the same lighting and they were all accepted. What could possibly be the reason this is found to have an exposure problem, cause I don't see a problem.

Ice Cream-Brownie dessert.jpg

TOPICS
Contributor critique

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would suggest to decrease the highlights a bit and increase the shadows a bit as well as use the adjustment brush to bring the shadow area up just a bit to on the 'darkish' side of the cake to get this:

Ice+Cream-Brownie+dessert_exposure.jpg

I think that's why it got rejected because of exposure. The cake is just a bit too dark. (Maybe)

Otherwise, it is well exposed!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied