Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Great Cheap editing machine!

Engaged ,
Apr 12, 2018 Apr 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all,

I've been using PrPro and Ae for more than 10 years, most recently recently on Win7 and Mac OS. I recently bought a super cheap ($650!!) Win10 tower at CostCo, and WOW, I am super impressed with the performance!

This is the one:

HP Performance Pavilion 580-137c Desktop - AMD Ryzen 7 - 4GB Graphics

I haven't pushed any boundaries with the 3D rendering from Ae yet, just 2D Ae Dynamic Linked comps, multicam event video, and Lumetri Color, no pre-renders, just going straight to export "match sequence settings" (original capture media is Canon XF MPEG from model XF300).

The thing is currently rendering circles around machines that cost 4X as much $$$ a few years ago.

Also, I think PrPro may just be happier running on Win10 than on the other operating systems I have tried.

I am pleased with this situation.

Thanks!

Eric D - CoralVision

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good to hear.  Thanks for sharing, that looks to be a good deal.  Did you add any additional hardware (i.e. dedicated drives for video)?

At my day job I have a loaded Dell T7600 that cost $11,000.  However, I personally use off-lease Dells for my side gigs and work I take home, and they run about $500 each and are just as quick, (I have my eye on a bare bones model for $150). 

I also work exclusively with Canon XF, and transcode everything else to MXF (which all the major studios use - it was created to meet their needs).  Which is a native format that runs faster than real time in Premiere.  Only clips or portions of clips that have FX applied are rendered.  Everything else is a direct stream copy.

Votes

Translate

Translate