Skip to main content
Mar 16, 2009 8:23 AM UTC
Question

creating a round photo

I want to create a "round" photo, that is make a circle round a face and then "delete" the picture outside the photo. I'm having trouble finding our how to do this... Thanks guys
    This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

    10 replies

    Legend
    Dec 20, 2019 1:58 AM UTC

    Different ways to acheive this in Fireworks, one way is to draw a circle  with no fill line the photo up with the circle > copy image >  select circle >  paste inside

    Translate
    Paul-M - Community Expert
    Paul Carlin
    Participating Frequently
    May 11, 2016 6:00 PM UTC

    Here is the 2016 Answer to the question using InDesign CC 2015...

    1) Place the Photo.

    2) Object -> Convert Shape -> Ellipse

    Start with a square photo to get a perfect circle.  If you need to resize the picture, be sure that Auto-fit checkbox is enabled on the tool bar.  To change the cropping, disable the Auto-fit checkbox.  Use the Shift-Key to maintain a perfect circle when dragging.

    Translate
    lisas95196694
    Participant
    Jan 8, 2018 6:19 PM UTC

    That was crazy easy!  Thank you!  Perfect!

    Translate
    Mar 17, 2009 10:08 AM UTC
    Thanks Lorraine.

    Graham :)
    Translate
    Mar 16, 2009 2:44 PM UTC
    Thanks guys. I got as far as drawing the circle but didn't get the rest.

    Cheers G :)
    Translate
    Mar 16, 2009 7:32 PM UTC
    quote:

    Originally posted by: gandalf458
    Thanks guys. I got as far as drawing the circle but didn't get the rest.

    Cheers G :)


    Hi G,

    Peter's answer is correct, but I'll make it more verbose. There are three steps, you've done the first.
    1) Drag out a WHITE circle over the area of your image you want circular.
    For placement, you can temporarily, reduce the opacity so you can see through your circle. You must set it back to 100% for the next steps, though! You can change the opacity in the Layers panel. Select the circle object, then click on the arrow next to the number 100 and drag it down.

    2) Select both your image and the circle you just dragged out
    Once you create your circle, it's selected. The easy thing here is to hold your CTRL key (if you're on Windows, I think it's Option on a Mac) and click on your photo. You can also use your selection tool and click and drag an area that includes parts of both your photo and your circle. Or, you can use the Layers panel: click on one object then CTRL-click on the other.

    3) Modify > Mask > Group as Mask.
    A mask is somewhat like an old fashioned stencil. For your mask/stencil, you create a second image. White parts of your mask are the places where your picture will show through. (You can make more complex masks, but let's not get into that here.) For now, go to your menu and click on Modify, then Mask, then Group as Mask.

    Using a mask doesn't crop the image, it only changes what parts show through the mask.


    Translate
    JoeDaSilva
    Participating Frequently
    Mar 16, 2009 2:14 PM UTC
    Piece of cake! Open your photo up, and then choose the vector ellipse tool in the toolbar on the left. Draw your circle over the photo. Remember that you can retain the aspect ratio by holding shift as you draw, resulting in a perfect circle. Once you have the circle in place where you like it, select it with the black pointer and "cut" it using ctrl+X, or Edit > Cut. Using the black pointer again, select your photo and go to Edit > Past as Mask.
    Translate
    Inspiring
    Mar 16, 2009 1:58 PM UTC
    Hi,

    Drag out a WHITE circle over the area of your image you want circular.
    Select both your image and the circle you just dragged out > Modify > Mask >
    Group as Mask.

    Peter
    _________________
    "gandalf458" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
    news:gpl2a2$rqo$1@forums.macromedia.com...
    |I want to create a "round" photo, that is make a circle round a face and
    then "delete" the picture outside the photo. I'm having trouble finding our
    how to do this... Thanks guys


    Translate