Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Code128 Barcode in Adobe Acrobat Form

New Here ,
Sep 21, 2018 Sep 21, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

My client has a PDF form where you fill out product options then it converts those options into a single text field "Lot Number" then finally a field, "Lot Number Barcode", takes the lot number and converts it to a barcode. For some reason this is not working. I know almost nothing about barcode integration but I am a programmer and just looking for some guidance on this topic.

The "Lot Number Barcode" field uses under properties Calculate->Custom Calculation Script this code. So like I said above it's taking the "Lot Number" field and converting to a string which I believe then the font uses to generate the correct barcode or that is the idea.

event.value = this.getField("Lot No").valueAsString;

I found this post on stackoverflow.com about this topic and it seems like it can be much more involved but I don't understand what he is talking about when he says, "start/stop characters, calculating and including the check digit"...etc:

The first thing you'll need is access to a suitable code 128 bar code font that allows at least editable embedding. You can then use it with a regular text form field and use JavaScript to set the field value correctly. This involves including the start/stop characters, calculating and including the check digit, selecting the code set, and possibly code set shifting. The hardest part can be finding the font.

Stackoverflow: Code128 Barcode in Adobe Acrobat Form

Here is a link to the actual PDF I was given from the client:

https://ufile.io/ihh87

TOPICS
PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Sep 21, 2018 Sep 21, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied