• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I embed all fonts/glyphs used by a form?

New Here ,
Jun 20, 2024 Jun 20, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

High level summary:

What I am trying to do is have a PDF that is form-filled on a linux server.

The problem I think I have (I am new to this so I may be wrong) is that not all the glyphs for a given font are being embedded in the PDF, so when I try to form-fill the PDF it fails. Specifically when I am dealing with some Unicode characters.

Here is a lot more detail:

I have tried a number of server-side technologies to do the form filling including pdftk, apache's pdfbox, etc. these technologies on stumble on the high-order characters.

I have a super simple test-file.pdf that has 2 form fields in it, both using different fonts (Helv and Times Roman)

When I run pdfbox using the attached test-file.pdf and test-file-warning.xfdf (no high order characters), I get this output which seems to imply that the font is not fully embedded. (Note: this does generate a pdf)

Jun 20, 2024 5:21:02 PM org.apache.pdfbox.pdmodel.font.PDType1Font <init>
WARNING: Using fallback font LiberationSans for base font Helvetica
WARNING: Using fallback font LiberationSans for Helvetica
Jun 20, 2024 5:21:02 PM org.apache.pdfbox.pdmodel.PDAbstractContentStream setFont
WARNING: attempting to use font 'Helvetica' that isn't embedded
WARNING: Using fallback font LiberationSans for Times-Roman
Jun 20, 2024 5:21:02 PM org.apache.pdfbox.pdmodel.PDAbstractContentStream setFont
WARNING: attempting to use font 'Times-Roman' that isn't embedded

Run like this:

java -jar pdfbox-app-3.0.2.jar import:xfdf --input test-file.pdf --output test-file-warning-filled.pdf --data test-file-warning.xfdf

And when I run the process with an xfdf file that has high order characters like this: