• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to save validated signature? Every time I open, it prompts to validate

Explorer ,
Jul 28, 2022 Jul 28, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have had this happen multiple times and can't seem to solve.  I'm new to this digital signature/certificates but have watched some training videos.  But I don't understand what's happening.  

Scenario: 

I have the Public Key file for another person on my computer. 

I have my key file for myself on the computer.

The 2nd person digitally signs the PDF, saves to a new name and sends back to me. 

I open the file and get a message to validate the signature.  I do that.  

I sign and validate mine.  I save to a new name and close.

When I reopen, I get the message that a signature needs to be validated again.  

Any thoughts?  Am expecting this to work in a manner that it doesn't? 

Thanks!

Lynn

TOPICS
Security digital signatures and esignatures

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,
Jul 28, 2022 Jul 28, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Any thoughts?  Am expecting this to work in a manner that it doesn't?

Validating a PDF signature does not change the PDF itself, the validation state is not stored with the file.

Thus, every time you re-open the file, the PDF viewer considers the signature as not yet validated.

Depending on the Acrobat settings, it tries automatically to validate the signature upon loading.

This does not always work, though, so even if you configure Acrobat to automatically validate on load, you may see a message that a signature requires validation. (I'm not sure what causes this. I assume that lengthy on-load JavaScript in the PDF might be one reason but there may also be others.)