Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adding a string to beginning of field if field contains user input

New Here ,
Aug 27, 2020 Aug 27, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I am new to Javascript, but have coded in VBA for a while...very different!

I am trying to figure out how to add a fixed string to the beginning of a field after the user inputs their data.

Any help would be awesome!

Thanks...

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 27, 2020 Aug 27, 2020

As the field's custom Format script enter this code:

if (event.value) event.value = "AWARDS: "+event.value;

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Do you want the string to be an actual part of the field's value, or just to be displayed? If the former, keep in mind that each time the user edits the field it will add the string again to the start of it, unless your script checks for that first.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The idea is that if a user inputs data into a field, it will add the string "AWARDS:" to the beginning of what they type. If the field is null, then it wont.

I was thinking of using BLUR for the validation since I don't want the action to take place until after the user is done.

I actually thought this would be simple, but in JAva, not so much! Still trying to figure this language out...

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Just realized whata you were asking...