Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Adobe Pro DC simple question.

New Here ,
Mar 21, 2016 Mar 21, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I am new to Adobe Acrobat DC, and I am sure this is something simple, but I have very little JavaScript "know-how."  I am working on something for work and I am looking to use some sort of conditional formula.  Below is a brief description of what I am trying to do:

I have a form and I would like to sum up a range of text boxes across, but only if the first text box is not empty.  (i.e.  Text Box 1 has the date in it, so now I would like Text Boxes 2-10 to sum up in Text Box 11)

I mostly work with Excel, and as I said I am somewhat new to scripting so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, if anyone has any suggestions for resources I could use to learn more about JavaScript and its uses within Adobe Acrobat DC.

Thanks all,

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 21, 2016 Mar 21, 2016

You can use something like this as the custom calculation script of "Text Box 11":

if (this.getField("Text Box 1").valueAsString=="") event.value = "";

else {

var total = 0;

for (var i=2; i<=10; i++)

total+=Number(this.getField("Text Box "+i).value);

event.value = total;

}

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can use something like this as the custom calculation script of "Text Box 11":

if (this.getField("Text Box 1").valueAsString=="") event.value = "";

else {

var total = 0;

for (var i=2; i<=10; i++)

total+=Number(this.getField("Text Box "+i).value);

event.value = total;

}

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines