• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to Hide Trailing Zeros in a Number / Rounding to Nearest Quarter Hour

Community Beginner ,
Feb 20, 2019 Feb 20, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have fields on a PDF form for number of hours. I want to allow for 2 decimal places to allow for quarter hours (15 min, 45 min). This is an example of what is currently being displayed:

Is there a validation script that would hide the trailing zeros? I want the numbers above to be displayed as:

I've also been looking for a script that would round to the nearest quarter hour (.25, .5, .75), but I haven't had any luck finding this on forums. Is this even possible? It seemed too complicated so I abandoned the idea. I'm a novice when it comes to custom scripts and would appreciate any help from this knowledgeable community.

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 21, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

Place the code as a doc-level script and as field's custom validation (or as a part of the calculation) script, enter this:

event.value = roundToNearestQuarter(event.value);

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Feb 20, 2019 Feb 20, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This function I wrote will do it:

function roundToNearestQuarter(v) {

v = (Math.round(v * 4) / 4);

if (v==Math.round(v)) return v.toFixed(0);

else return v.toFixed(2);

}

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Feb 21, 2019 Feb 21, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied