• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

JavaScript interaction with Excel/Txt Files

New Here ,
Aug 16, 2018 Aug 16, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello! I am very new to JavaScript programming within Adobe and am trying to pull an external list of strings (format can change, however, pulling from an Excel file would be most efficient) into an Adobe Pro DC JavaScript as an array, in order to search for that list of strings through the PDF. I have the code working so that I can hard code the strings into the JavaScript. Please let me know if you have any direction or can help me with this. Thank you very much for your time in advance!

Chris

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can't read data directly from an Excel file, as it is not a plain-text file. You will need to first convert it to something like a tab-delimited text file, a CSV file, or even an XML file, and then you would be able to read it directly using a script.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm able to manually copy the Excel (or really, probably write a VBA script that saves certain cells into a CSV file). Once I do that, how can I import that CSV into an array? Thank you for the quick response!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied