Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making two dropdown lists dependent on exported value

Community Beginner ,
May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm very new to working with forms and javascript so please bear with me.

I've got two dropdown lists with export values used for simple calculation. (i.e.:  event.target.value = this.getField("12Round").value; in a separate text box)

Both of the dropdown lists have three options: None, One, and Two with export values of 0, 2, and 4 respectively.

The issue I have is that both are dependent on the other.

Example:  Take a box with two lids that can have two different sets of openings; Round or Square. When the dropdown choice comes up, the quantity outputs for each field work fine, however (2) of each dropdown can't be chosen.  Conditions that work are: (1) of either type, (2) of one type, or (1) of each.

Is there a way to have the dropdown box selections (freeze/ change colour?) as soon as the maximum is reached between both of them?

Thanks!!

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020

Yes, use the calculation script in the text field to make the dropdowns ReadOnly when the max is reached.

var nSum = this.getField("12Round").value + this.getField("Other dropdown").value;

if(nSum > nMax)

{

this.getField("12Round").readOnly = true;

this.getField("Other dropdown").readOnly = true;

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , May 27, 2020 May 27, 2020

Use readonly not readOnly

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, use the calculation script in the text field to make the dropdowns ReadOnly when the max is reached.