Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Accessing comments/annotations via API

Community Beginner ,
Jun 30, 2021 Jun 30, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to the Document Services API and am trying to work out if the following is possible.  I would like to be able to access the comments/annotations of a PDF file via an API.  

The following documentation is for the REST query that should extract the contents of the file, but I'm unclear whether this will include annotations or not.  From the reading I've done, it looks like the annotations/comments are not available.

https://documentcloud.adobe.com/document-services/index.html#post-extractPDF

Can anyone kindly advise if I'm looking in the right area, or how else I can do this using REST API?  I'm unable to install any Python/Java etc, which is often the solution I've seen when googling.

Thank you in advance.

Regards, David.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Currently, Extract API only extracts the text on the page. It does not extract annotations, form field data, or any other PDF "widgets".

However, we are always looking to improve the product. What would extracting comments let you do? How would you expect it to work? Your input would be appreciated.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you for the info, Joel.

We were looking to be able to monitor for annotations (comments) being added to documents, and notifying / passing through those comments to users in another system (Adobe Workfront).