• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

plugin creation

Aug 07, 2017 Aug 07, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I am new to acrobat plugins.  I am having set of tools developed in acrobat java script like auto bookmarking.  I wanted to convert this into plugins using c++.  I dont know where to start and how to start.  Can any one help me on this?  How to create?  Which platform is required to create plugin?  How to create .api file?

Ariv

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
replies 152 Replies 152
LEGEND ,
Aug 08, 2017 Aug 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Plug-in creation needs things to be done very precisely, because the plug-in becomes part of Acrobat and has to be built in the same way. Here are some thoughts.

1. There may seem to be alternative ways to do some things, and experts might succeed. But getting plug-ins to work at all is so specific and demanding that for a beginner to make any changes to how things are done invites even more frustration. As it is, it may take weeks before a starting plug-in developer finally persuades their plug-in to load.

2. Plugins MUST be created using Visual Studio (Windows) or xcode (Mac). More than that, you need to use the specific version recommended in the documentation for the SDK you use.  These are complex tools with more learning curve than I'd like, even from version to version.

3. Write plug-ins for Acrobat NOT FOR READER.

4. Always use a starter project or sample to start with. Get one of these working properly before adding a line. Be sure you know what you expect them to do: for example a plug-in has an entry in ABOUT only if it puts one there; no other magic does this.