• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

AIR and performance questions

May 22, 2011 May 22, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey,

I'm new to AIR mobile development although i have around a decades experience with Flash, but with AIR for mobile i'm a bit lost. So i was hoping someone can answer these questions for me...

1. Is there currently no way to use a phones vibration with AIR? I remember seeing people asking this on these forums last year, and it still looks as if this extremely simple thing cannot be done? And if it cant, are there plans to have it in AIR 2.7?

2. When i select GPU acceleration, does it cache all bitmaps automatically? Or do i still have to manually select "Cache as Bitmap" for everything i want cached? (i'm using Flash Pro CS5.5). Because it seems to have no effect on frame rates whatever i do here as long as GPU render mode is selected.

3. Would i get better performance using vectors or bitmaps for graphics?

4. Whats the texture size limit for Android and iOS before it can no longer be cached?

5. Does it matter performance wise if JPG's and PNG's are used for graphics instead of bitmaps? (when i've not selected Cache as Bitmap).

6. Whats the differences between a AIR for Android and AIR for iOS? I've noticed that for Android it supports use of the camera, for iOS it dont. Is there anything else?

7. How can i embed a HD video in an AIR for Android app? i've seen this thread: http://forums.adobe.com/thread/849395?tstart=0
but it's for AIR on iOS, i wouldn't think it's any different for Android, but i'm getting a blank screen when i use the code from that thread (and i'm testing on a Android phone too, not in Flash > Test Movie).

Or if anyone has ANY tips for performance at all then i'd love to hear them

TOPICS
Development

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more