Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Animate HTML Canvas/JS and Loading SVG From File

Contributor ,
Sep 23, 2019 Sep 23, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am migrating from AS3 to HTML5/JS -- I am very new at this.  I have read the w3schools.com JS tutorial, as well as createJS.com .  With AS3, I had 500 SWF files (containing vector graphics) that could be loaded dynamically, and now I am converting them to SVG.  With the HTML5/JS method, I need to dynamically load any of the 500 SVGs.

I've had success loading a .JPG with this:

this.stop();
this.imageHolder.removeAllChildren();
var p = new createjs.Bitmap("images/img3.jpg"); // THIS WORKS
// var p = new createjs.Bitmap("images/global_6000.svg");  //THIS DOESN'T WORK
// var p = new createjs.MovieClip("images/global_6000.svg");  //THIS DOESN'T WORK
// var p = new createjs.Shape("images/global_6000.svg");  //THIS DOESN'T WORK
this.imageHolder.addChild(p);

The SVG doesn't appear.

I have searched the web exhaustively, and I cannot find an Animate HTML Canvas explanation of how to load .SVG files and display them.  If anyone could point me in the right direction, I would appreciate your help.  Thank you!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 24, 2019 Sep 24, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi.

Use LoadQueue.

Example (ES6):

const loader = new createjs.LoadQueue(false, null, true);

loader.on("complete", e =>
{
    const bitmap = new createjs.Bitmap(e.currentTarget.getResult("test"));
    this.addChild(bitmap);
});

loader.loadManifest([{id:"test", src:"star.svg", type:"image"}]);

Regards,

JC

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,