Exit

Disapearing files in Animate

New Here ,
Jan 10, 2020 Jan 10, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

MacOS 10.13.6

Animate 20.0.1

I just started using Animate a few months ago. Had a couple experiences saving a file as something else, and seeing files disapear from a folder when I first started. I couldnt duplicate the issue on purpose and chalked it up to something werid I was doing saving that confused it or straight human error... Keep in mind Ive been doing graphics on computers since beta version of Illustrator (yes...), so I am not a newbie to file management. 

Just had a case where I had a diredctory structure with a folder named Digital Ads with 1 folder (Ad Series 1), inside that folder were 4 folders (for 4 ad sizes) and 4 fla documents. All docs were setup to publish into the correct dorectory. All was good, went thru mutlitple revisions, publishing etc over about a week and a half.

Final changes done earlier today. Just now I open one of the fla files and went to save it as an animated gif, selected settings, selected the location as the root directory (the dorectory with the Ad Series 1 folder) and clicked save. Chug chug...theres the gif file. No prob.

Went to export as a movie, the default location said ...Documents/the files name so I thought whatever, I can move it out of there easy enough and clicked save. It started chewing, launched the encoder app and then gave me an error saying the original fla file couldnt be found. Weird. I look at the directory and the "Ad Series 1" folder is gone.

The gif version is there, that folder and everything else gone. Not moved, not in the trash can. Gone. Nowhere on my system. Exactly like the the problem I had before, and I was exporting movies then as well. Im a seasoned user and have backups and I lose a couple hours of work, but something about saving to a movie, changing paths and file names somehow made it remove an entire directory without a trace.

TOPICS
Product issue

Views

Translate