Highlighted

Help with understanding objects to rotate and turn in one motion

New Here ,
May 21, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Animation and I am seeking advice on what adobe tools to use. I would like an object to animate in turns and rotations. For example a plane flying around a building where you will see the planes nose to back of the wing and back to the nose. The animation will show all sides of the plane in one clip. My initial thought is doesn't the object need to be drawn or created in a 3D model so that you can have it twist and turn in Animate CC? I understand what tweening is but that is more for flat objects that are not rotating.

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by Myra Ferguson | Adobe Community Professional

What you choose depends on how you want to approach the animation and how you want the final result to look. If you want the look to be more cartoony and you want to draw the representations of the various perspectives, then you want 2D. If you want it to be more of an accurate/realistic representation of a plane, then you want 3D. That's a huge generalization. In other words, it is possible to do very technical drawings in 2D or use effects to make a 3D rendering look cartoonish.

More specifically for which apps to use--

If you want to draw in 2 dimensions to simulate 3D, you can use Animate to do the drawings and the animation, which would be the recommended workflow for 2D. You can also use Illustrator to do some of the drawings and bring those into Animate, but you'll need lots of frames. So an image in Illustrator would be more like a starting point that you could modify in Animate (see character sheet link below). If you made all of your frames in Illustrator and put them all into After Effects, it would be tedious and not recommended, but you could do it.