• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Reducing File Size when including Audio

New Here ,
Jul 09, 2018 Jul 09, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I need help! I am creating a standard 1280 by 720 Captivate course (currently Captivate 9) and I am publishing in both SWF and HTML5 as the course will be viewed on both mobile and desktop. I am about to capture audio this week.

What I am concerned with is the size of the file once I add audio. I have tested adding to certain slides and they are HUGE! I even reduced down to 64 KBPS. It is such an important course that I don't want to capture the audio and then have the file be too big to load onto the LMS. This is my first time including audio and I am recording directly onto each slide.

Does anyone have any recommendations on what I can do to reduce the file size beforehand or do you think it will not be a problem?  There are about 30 slides requiring audio.  This is a brand timeline and I have already made the course have a Part 1 and Part 2 so I cannot reduce the scope of the course anymore.

Any insight would be sooo helpful.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First, every 'current' browser will handle Captivate's HTML5 output just fine. The only reason you'd want to publish to SWF is if you need to support old browser versions. At least test it; if you output to just HTML and your users are not stuck on browser versions older than a year or two, it should work fine (excepting, of course, some things that don't work on HTML yet, like a few of the effects).

That alone will reduce your SCORM .zip file output significantly as, currently publishing to both SWF/HTML, your .zip has two versions of the lesson.

For audio itself: