Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Federal Agency 508 Compliant Training Captivate 2019

New Here ,
Dec 31, 2019 Dec 31, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone,

I'm working for a tribal agency and was tasked to develop/hire some online training. I'm just getting started with this, so I'm a total newbie.

Tribal agencies fall under federal law and I'm learning that online training developed in Captivate can be difficult to make 508 compliant, especially since federal law is more strict than state law (I worked for a state agency before). Now, our state uses only Adobe products, so I know we want to avoid paying for another product. Do you have any tips?

In my previous state agency we would create our online training without much regard for accessibility in Captivate and then provide an accessible PDF from scratch to go along with the course. Would that still be possible by federal law?

Are there people here in this forum who specialize in creating online training courses in Captivate for federal agencies? 

TOPICS
Advanced , Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jan 03, 2020 Jan 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I would prepare my courses in the same detailled way as any other course with the addition of the mapping of your Accessibility requirements.

You can add audio voice (I prefer a less talented human voice than a really good electronic one) and you can include the text from the script you will write so all learners can hear, read with your course.

Regarding the interactions, you will need to plan for mobility issues (varied abilities to use the mouse or equivalent to control the cursor); the challenge here is similar to using the computer itself.