• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Small changes in .ai puppet file result in unrelated layers disappearing in record mode

Explorer ,
Aug 23, 2022 Aug 23, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, this is not my first puppet, but I am still a novice. I have a .ai puppet. I spent a couple days getting everything rigged and ready to go. But before I started recording, I thought the hand art looked a little off, so I went back into Illustrator and tweaked the finger positions a little. I DIDN'T CHANGE THE STRUCTURE, ANY LAYER NAMES, ETC. BUT when I went back into Character Animator, random layers were missing (an arm, a foot, part of a leg). They are still there in Rig mode, but they do not appear in Record mode. I tried going back into .ai and making other random tweaks to the artwork, and every once in a while different layers appear or disappear. It's really weird and annoying. Any ideas? I'm gonna keep trying stuff.

TOPICS
Bugs

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One thing to keep an eye out for is that the content isn't actually disappearing, just getting shifted far out of range. For as long as I can remember, there's been an issue within CH that means that slight adjustments to the original file can have unexpected results in the current CH file. One thing to test is to take the latest AI file and import it as a new puppet and see if all of the parts are where they are supposed to be.

Another thing that can cause parts to dissappear are the addition of behaviors in layers that they are unexpected. If all else fails, export the puppet and share it here and we can take a look at it.

Votes

Translate

Translate