Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ColdFusion zero day exploit?

LEGEND ,
Feb 13, 2019 Feb 13, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

(Raises hand)

Can anyone, here, tell me about the most recently discovered CF zero day exploit?

I'm not an admin, but I've been coding CF since late 2000 and am curious about what is known about this most recent exploit.

V/r,

^ _ ^

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't really follow CF exploits that closely, but the last one I remember is one that allows file uploading through CKEditor. Rich-text editors are just generally more likely to be vulnerable to all sorts of stuff because of the complexity of what they do. My recommendation would just be to keep untrusted users away from being able to even access rich-text editors. This is done through network access controls and user authentication/authorization.

Dave Watts, Eidolon LLC

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, Dave,

We already strip out all HTML in any user input forms we have.  But I heard that a new zero day exploit in CF was announced, this morning, and I'm trying to learn about it.

V/r,

^ _ ^

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied