Exit

Session Variable Not Persisting?

New Here ,
Mar 30, 2020 Mar 30, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hola!
I hope all is well.

I'm running into an issue in a ColdFusion (CF) app and I was hoping someone could help. I took over an app that someone else wrote that's running ColdFusion v11,0,19,314546; IIS v10.0.14393.0; Windows 2016 Server. I know, I know. A little old school. But that's what I gotta work with.

The CF app works. It has been in Production for years. Decades, actually! So I know the code works. I'm in the process of moving the app from Apache Tomcat to IIS. And that's where I'm running into problems.

I'm new to ColdFusion so please excuse my description, but this CF app is made up of ColdFusion scripts that are "hosted" in SharePoint Online (SPO) pages. In other words, the app consists of a number of SharePoint Onlne webpages.  Each SPO webpage is made up of webparts. These webparts are ColdFusion scripts that execute when the SPO pages load.

Every time a SPO page loads, the application.cfm is called which grabs the user's identify from the SPO page, by referencing "#user#". That user's identity is then stored in a CF session variable which is referenced throughout the app using "session.userloginId". That works fine. No problems. The session variable in this case works great!

I'm running into issues when I a parent page opens a child page (via an include or calling it). When a parent page calls and opens/includes a child page, the session variable (session.userloginId) does not persist even though it's the same session and I get an error saying "Variable User is undefined". That "Variable User" is the "#user#" I mentioned a bit ago; the user variable that's accessed in application.cfm, which is called each time a SPO page is loaded.