• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Setting up MSAccess to ColdFusion

Community Beginner ,
Jan 17, 2022 Jan 17, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm brand squeaky new to cold fusion and access, as well as Windows, as I'm a Linux dev.

I'm trying to connect Access to cold fusion. I've got as far as installing the accessdataengine.exe, and opened odbcad32.exe. I don't know what to write in the Data Source Name. the helpful instructions I'm following at https://yiengly.wordpress.com/2017/05/02/setting-up-an-ms-access-32-bit-data-source-in-coldfusion/ say use the exact name in the Cold Fusion Administrator. I appear to have missed something there. I've got Commandbox installed, but have no access to the adminitrator page. I've tried going to http://127.0.0.1:8500/CFIDE/administrator/index.cfm with the server running (as it says to do here: https://helpx.adobe.com/coldfusion/configuring-administering/administering-coldfusion.html ), but it says "page isn't working". I have no idea what I'm doing. Then to select the database, what am I looking for? If I even had any idea what name to type in, I can't locate the database, as I have no idea of what it might be or where. The instructions say it's some sort of access database with .mdb but there's nothing on any of my drives with that file extension. The database I created with Access in my home drive is .accdb. Is it that one?

So 3 basic issues: can't get in coldfusion administrator, name of data source name, what database to select.

Can anyone shed any light on it please? Please be gentle with me, Windows is not my forte. 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Beginner , Jan 25, 2022 Jan 25, 2022

Hi,

Thanks for your reply, sorry for the delay I was away for the week.