Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

SIEM Log Ingest - Log File Field Definitions

New Here ,
Nov 18, 2021 Nov 18, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good day,

I would like to know if there is documentation that explains the field headers in CF2021 so that I may better ingest them into our SIEM Solution.  I have no experience with CF in past and am finding it difficult to locate information about what is being conveyed in the various logs.  Any information is appreciated.

Best regards,

Greg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Nov 19, 2021 Nov 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You're embarking on an interesting trek, Greg. Let me share some "thoughts from the trail". 

First, to be clear, there are no "field headers" for CF logs (which is its own challenge for any log ingestion). No cf logs have them as their first line to identify cols, nor are they available separately. 

But maybe you meant simply, "fields", and as such you'd be OK with a mere discussion somewhere of what cols are in each log file. I'm not aware of that, either.

Even then, the next challenge is that cf's logs are not all csv formatted, etc. with one line per event. Some cf logs have multiple lines per event--without any identifier to connect the multiple lines together. That will be especially challenging. But of course some log ingestion tools will try to handle that. (But being a multi-threaded app server, log lines for multiple events could be written at once, interleaving with one another. Grr. ) 

As for the coldfusion-out.log in particular, it can be valuable as the console log, but it also aggregates most of the other cf logs, which adds to the burden of that last challenge, with still more things "interleaved".